Teaching now and preparing for next year in Germany

06Sep10

As is my tradition, I’ve waited until the last possible moment to complete the syllabi and course sites for my classes this semester, both of which start meeting tomorrow. I’m teaching Television and American Culture, my annual fall ritual, and a new version of my course on narrative theory, Storytelling in Film & Media. Both syllabi are online, and free for browsing and poaching.

The more uncharted ground for me this semester is that, for the first time in 13 years, I’m sitting in a classroom as a student. My wife and I are both auditing Beginning German this year. While learning a language is certainly enriching enough to undertake for its own sake, we’re doing it with a more of an agenda. I will be on sabbatical in the 2011-12 academic year, and I’ve been invited to be a fellow-in-residence at the Lichtenberg-Kolleg at the University of Göttingen in central Germany. It’s a very interesting and generous program, and will be made even more exciting through collaborations with Göttingen’s American Studies department and their ongoing research project on Popular Seriality.

I’ve only been in Germany two days of my life (twenty years ago), so this is going to be quite an adventure, especially since we’ll be going for 11 months as a family of five! I wanted to publicly announce this here, particularly to alert any European readers that I’ll be based there from August 2011 to June 2012 – are there any conferences that I should be aware of instead of my standard North American circuit? I hope to take advantage of being in Central Europe and travel quite a bit, so help me figure out where to go.

Danke schön!

6 Responses to “Teaching now and preparing for next year in Germany”

  1. Dear Jason,
    What a great news that you will be teaching in Germany! If only you would teach here in the Netherlands, that would be marvelous. Hope you will have the chance to visit our media department at the northenmost university in Holland, Groningen University.

    Best of luck and thanx for the article on Breaking Bad! I would say that it is more and more competing with The Wire in my top 5 list :)

    -Ari from The Netherlands

  2. By the way, would you say that your “On Disliking Mad Men” article is the one that generated the most number of comments on this blog? Fascinating, because I learned a lot from just reading the discussion [the comments/responses], more so than a classroom experience of textual criticism. Anyway, that’s just a personal reflection of it. Thank you for keeping up a very resourceful blog.

  3. Congratulations to the fellowship. Germany is certainly worth a visit :-) I am currently based in Frankfurt/Main. I once attended a tour of the university in Göttingen. It is a gorgeous campus. Will you offer open lectures as well? I would definitely commute to Göttingen to attend one of your classes.

    P.S. If you require any assistance in your language studies, do not hesitate to contact me.

    • There will be a public lecture or two, but I won’t be teaching regular classes at all. I’ll actually be visiting Göttingen in October to scout out the city, and give a talk on October 19. I’ll post the details to the blog once I have them.


  1. 1 The Quality of Complexity « Just TV

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,213 other followers

