Dragnet ’07: The Big Toilet

31Aug07

Many of my academic friends like to joke that my take on television always manages to come back to Dragnet, the groundbreaking cop show that I wrote about in my book Genre & Television. While I’ll admit to being more Dragnet-centric than most media scholars, I was pleased to see the show’s relevance reasserted by Keith Olbermann on his MSNBC show Countdown. Ripped from the headlines, here’s a Dragnet-inspired take on the Larry Craig scandal:



One Response to “Dragnet ’07: The Big Toilet”

  1. 1 Jonathan Gray

    great parody. Also, I’d be willing to bet that no other news show was able to include so much of the police report as did Countdown, via this amusing sequence. Thus a lovely example of how entertainment and information can actually work together quite meaningfully and successfully


Leave a Reply

