A tenured blogger

07Dec07

Apologies for the lack of content here over the past month. I could claim solidarity with the writers’ strike, but it’s a combination of lack of time and lack of inspiration of anything to say that warrants carving out a moment to post.

Until now – while it might not offer any great insight or have much to do with TV, I do have news. I received the word today that I received tenure and promotion to Associate Professor! The tenure process at Middlebury is quite humane and fair, but nevertheless it’s anxiety-provoking whenever you’re being judged. So the stakes this semester have been high, but I made it through the process unscathed. And the result is that I’ll get to keep the best job I can imagine for the rest of my career. Woo hoo!

I hope to resume my regular blogging pace once the semester wraps up & the grades are in – thanks for reading…



17 Responses to “A tenured blogger”

  1. 1 Shaun Huston

    Congratulations. My institution, Western Oregon University, also has a relatively “humane” tenure process, but, as in your case, the year I applied was very hard. Suffered my worst teaching evaluations ever, even compared to my grad school TA evals (at least that’s how I’ve chosen to remember it). I am impressed with how fast the Powers That Be gave you the news. It’s May before anyone learns of their fate at WOU (applications were initially submitted in November).

  2. Hey, congratulations!!! I know how hard that process can be; must feel fabulous to have made it through!

  3. Congratulations, Jason! I’ve been in two classes where professors were being evaluated for tenure and it is a tense time but the reward is great. Best wishes, Ryan.

  4. Wonderful news – Congratulations!!

  5. Many congratulations, Jason! Great news!

  6. Yes, terrific news.

  7. Congratulations! Great news!!!!

  8. Fantastic news (and particularly great that they let you know at the end of the fall semester; we don’t find out till around April, here at SMU)! Long may you reign!

  9. Congratulations! And well-deserved.

  10. Well deserved. And so nice to see someone get tenure who actually won’t abuse the thing — like a good jedi, I’m sure you’ll use your powers for good🙂 Congratulations: drinks on me at SCMS

  11. And drinks are on me next time I catch you in New York. Congratulations!

  12. Hey, that’s fantastic news, and well-deserved.

  13. Congratulations, Jason. You’ve earned it.

  14. Score one for the good guys. Way to go, Jason….Happy for you, while I submerge the twinge of “Why him and not me yet???….lol…let me bask in your happy-glow a minute before I venture out into that storm that’s socking it to us up here in the Great Really White North.

  15. A little late to the party, but I wanted to say Congratulations!!!!! This is both deserved and earned.

  16. Score one for the good guys. Way to go, Jason….Happy for you, while I submerge the twinge of “Why him and not me yet???….lol…let me bask in your happy-glow a minute before I venture out into that storm that’s socking it to us up here in the Great Really White North.


  1. 1 Heading Back to Europe | Just TV

Leave a Reply

