Back on the blog

14Sep08

To quote one of my favorite fictional writers, “Hola, amigos. I know it’s been a long time since I rapped at ya, but I been puttin’ out fires left and right.”

I’m back from an unplanned summer hiatus. I knew this summer would be quite busy, but had no idea the scope of it, and how it would derail any blogging opportunities. To summarize, since May:

– I moved offices into a new building on Middlebury’s campus.

– I moved houses, which was only 1/2 a block, but you still have pack, unpack, and uproot your life.

– I became chair of the Film & Media Department, which entails supervising the ordering & installation of new equipment into our new facility, as well as regular chair duties, which I’ve since discovered is like a full time job on top of my pre-existing full time job (with no associated course release to offset the new responsibilities).

– I finished writing and revising my textbook, Television & American Culture, and spent a lot of time playing with images, captions, and the like.

– I presented at one conference, prepared proposals for two others, revised two articles for publication, and reviewed two manuscripts.

– I spent 2-3 days a week with my daughters over the summer months.

– I learned how to tend to a swimming pool, a feature of our new house that I’m thinking is not worth the hassle.

Still, it was a good summer overall, with all the work providing the rewards of a great house, great office, great job(s), and (hopefully) great soon-to-be book. While time was scarce to blog, so was inspiration. I watched comparatively little TV, with the only summer show catching my fancy being The Middleman, plus lots of Olympics, MSNBC, and Daily Show. And my mind was working more on short-little micro-blogs on BT4QP and Facebook, rather than full length blog posts here.

But I do have some larger-scale thoughts on the horizon, and I hope to have something to say about some of the new TV series this fall. So if you’ve still got Just TV on your RSS reader, stay tuned and hopefully you’ll get new posts more than once every three months. Thanks for staying tuned.



4 Responses to “Back on the blog”

  1. Look on the positive side, Jason: now that you’ve had a modicum of executive experience as dept head, you’re henceforth eligible to be president of the United States. What’s more, you have more than two kids, making you a “real American,” your summer hiatus proves your ability to avoid the press, and your state touches Canada, in turn meaning that you have considerable foreign affairs experience (and you went to grad school in Wisconsin, which ALSO touches Canada!). Now, if you could just give up on those “book” things, and perhaps send a kid to Iraq, I think you’re set.

    Sorry to compare. I mean nothing by it😉

    Seriously, welcome back.

  2. So, where and when will we be able to buy the book? Between yours and Gray’s new _Television Entertainment_ I can see myself spoilt for choice for my Digital Media course next year!🙂

  3. Funny how these summers get busier and busier, isn’t it? Wow, you bit off a lot this past summer (though you managed much more TV than I did), and I’m glad you’re still intact! Good luck chairing, and with everything else!

  4. 4 MikeRoberts

    The Lennon quote about Life and plans, etc. comes to mind. Good to see you back in the blogosphere.


Leave a Reply

